Kansas Association
of Beverage Retailers

 

 

 

 

HB 2282 Big Box Liquor Hearing Next Monday and Tuesday

07 Feb 2017 8:28 AM | Anonymous


HB 2282 will have a public hearing in the House Commerce, Labor and Economic Development Committee next Monday and Tuesday.  Proponents will testify Monday, February 13 and Opponents will testify Tuesday, February 14.  The legislation would allow Big Box and Convenience Stores to sell strong beer and wine under a newly created Wine and Beer Retailers License.  Read the bill here.

Please plan to come to Topeka to show your opposition!  Hearings will most likely start at 1:30 p.m. and end around 3:00 p.m.  We are hoping to provide lunch in the Capitol on Tuesday if we can secure the space.

KABR will send more detailed information and an RSVP email very soon.

***********************************************

Long time members of KABR know – the key to winning this issue is one on one relationships with your legislators.  It takes more than a 2 minute conversation to explain the complex concerns of retail liquor store owners.  As they get to know you and learn about your business, they are better able to understand the harmful effects of Uncork legislation.  As you develop an honest supportive relationship with your representative and senator, you are also more likely to receive information from them about the happenings at the Legislature.  If you do not know them already, reach out now to introduce yourself and to begin a conversation about why you hope they will support Kansas small businesses and oppose Uncork.  If they are local, request a meeting.

Reach out to the members of the House Commerce Committee and your legislators now (see information below if you need help).  Face to face meetings are extremely valuable – either at the Statehouse in Topeka or while they are home on the weekends.  Emails and phone calls are also effective.  It is very important that our members get active now on this issue, or we will find ourselves behind the ball once a public hearing is finally scheduled.   

Find your state senator and state representative at https://openstates.org/find_your_legislator/ by entering your address information.  Contact information for all legislators is available at wwwkslegislature.org.  

Information for the House Commerce Committee is below:

Office

Fullname

Party

Office#

OfficePhone

Email

HomeCity

Chair

Les Mason

Republican

521-E

785-296-7640

les.mason@house.ks.gov

McPherson

Vice Chair

Ken Corbet

Democrat

179-N

785 296-7679

ken.corbet@house.ks.gov

Topeka

Ranking Minority

Brandon Whipple

Republican

452-S

785 296-7366

brandon.whipple@house.ks.gov

Wichita

Representative

Dave Baker

Republican

167-W

785 296-6997

dave.baker@house.ks.gov

Council Grove

Representative

John Carmichael

Republican

451-S

785-296-7650

john.carmichael@house.ks.gov

Wichita

Representative

J. R.  Claeys

Republican

274-W

785 296-7670

jrclaeys@house.ks.gov

Salina

Representative

Stephanie Clayton

Republican

512-N

785 296-7548

stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov

Overland Park

Representative

Erin Davis

Republican

151-S

785-296-7658

erin.davis@house.ks.gov

Olathe

Representative

Roger Elliott

Republican

168-W

785 296-7476

Roger.Elliott@house.ks.gov

Wichita

Representative

Jan Kessinger

Republican

268-W

785 296-7436

Jan.Kessinger@house.ks.gov

Overland Park

Representative

Tom Phillips

Republican

512-N

785 296-7402

tom.phillips@house.ks.gov

Manhattan

Representative

Bradley Ralph

Democrat

512-N

785 296-7501

Brad.Ralph@houseks.gov

Dodge City

Representative

Louis Ruiz

Republican

47-S

785 296-7885

louis.ruiz@house.ks.gov

Kansas City

Representative

Joe Seiwert

Democrat

481-W

785 296-7647

joe.seiwert@house.ks.gov

Pretty Prairie

Representative

Jerry Stogsdill

Democrat

452-S

785 296-7692

Jerry.Stogsdill@house.ks.gov

Prairie Village

Representative

Sean Tarwater

Party

268-W

785 296-7685

Sean.Tarwater@house.ks.gov

Stilwell

Representative

Patsy Terrell

Republican

174-W

785 296-7645

Patsy.Terrell@house.ks.gov

Hutchinson

                                                       

Contacts: 

 Brian Davis, President - 316-990-1425   Email President          

 Amy Campbell, lobbyist – 785-969-1617   Email Lobbyist

 

  

                                       



Kansas Association of Beverage Retailers       P.O. Box 3842, Topeka, KS  66604      Email KABR  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software