Kansas Association
of Beverage Retailers

 

 

 

 

Big Box Liquor Hearings Next Monday and Tuesday

11 Feb 2017 1:15 PM | Anonymous


HB 2282 will have a public hearing in the House Commerce, Labor and Economic Development Committee next Monday and Tuesday.  Proponents will testify Monday, February 13 and Opponents will testify Tuesday, February 14.  The hearings will be in room 112-N at 1:30 p.m.   The legislation would allow Big Box and Convenience Stores to sell strong beer and wine under a newly created Wine and Beer Retailers License.  Read the bill here.

Please plan to come to Topeka to show your opposition to Big Box Liquor!  RSVP for lunch in the Capitol on Tuesday prior to the hearing.

RSVP for the Hearings on HB 2282 and Luncheon by clicking here.

Click Here for HB 2282 Talking Points

***********************************************

Long time members of KABR know – the key to winning this issue is one on one relationships with your legislators.  Talk to your senator and representative now.  It takes more than a 2 minute conversation to explain the complex concerns of retail liquor store owners.  As they get to know you and learn about your business, they are better able to understand the harmful effects of Uncork legislation.  As you develop an honest supportive relationship with your representative and senator, you are also more likely to receive information from them about the happenings at the Legislature.  If you do not know them already, reach out now to introduce yourself and to begin a conversation about why you hope they will support Kansas small businesses and oppose Uncork.  If they are local, request a meeting.

Reach out to the members of the House Commerce Committee and your legislators now (see information below if you need help).  Face to face meetings are extremely valuable – either at the Statehouse in Topeka or while they are home on the weekends.  Emails and phone calls are also effective.  It is very important that our members get active now on this issue, or we will find ourselves behind the ball once a public hearing is finally scheduled.   

Find your state senator and state representative at https://openstates.org/find_your_legislator/ by entering your address information.  Contact information for all legislators is available at www.kslegislature.org.  

Information for the House Commerce Committee is below:

Office

Fullname

Officenum

Offph

Email

Hmphyscity

Party

County

District

Chair

Les Mason

521-E

785-296-7640

les.mason@house.ks.gov

McPherson

Republican

McPherson

73

Vice Chair

Ken Corbet

179-N

785 296-7679

ken.corbet@house.ks.gov

Topeka

Republican

Shawnee

54

Ranking Minority Mbr

Brandon Whipple

452-S

785 296-7366

brandon.whipple@house.ks.gov

Wichita

Democrat

Sedgwick

96

Representative

Dave Baker

167-W

785 296-6997

dave.baker@house.ks.gov

Council Grove

Republican

Morris

68

Representative

John Carmichael

451-S

785-296-7650

john.carmichael@house.ks.gov

Wichita

Democrat

Sedgwick

92

Representative

J. R.  Claeys

274-W

785 296-7670

jrclaeys@house.ks.gov

Salina

Republican

Saline

69

Representative

Stephanie Clayton

512-N

785 296-7548

stephanieclayton@house.ks.gov

Overland Park

Republican

Johnson

19

Representative

Erin Davis

151-S

785-296-7658

erin.davis@house.ks.gov

Olathe

Republican

Johnson

15

Representative

Roger Elliott

168-W

785 296-7476

Roger.Elliott@house.ks.gov

Wichita

Republican

Sedgwick

87

Representative

Jan Kessinger

268-W

785 296-7436

Jan.Kessinger@house.ks.gov

Overland Park

Republican

Johnson

20

Representative

Tom Phillips

512-N

785 296-7402

tom.phillips@house.ks.gov

Manhattan

Republican

Riley

67

Representative

Bradley Ralph

512-N

785 296-7501

Brad.Ralph@house.ks.gov

Dodge City

Republican

Ford

119

Representative

Louis Ruiz

47-S

785 296-7885

louis.ruiz@house.ks.gov

Kansas City

Democrat

Wyandotte

31

Representative

Joe Seiwert

481-W

785 296-7647

joe.seiwert@house.ks.gov

Pretty Prairie

Republican

Reno

101

Representative

Jerry Stogsdill

452-S

785 296-7692

Jerry.Stogsdill@house.ks.gov

Prairie Village

Democrat

Johnson

21

Representative

Sean Tarwater

268-W

785 296-7685

Sean.Tarwater@house.ks.gov

Stilwell

Republican

Johnson

27

Representative

Patsy Terrell

174-W

785 296-7645

Patsy.Terrell@house.ks.gov

Hutchinson

Democrat

Reno

102

                                                                                                             

Contacts: 

 Brian Davis, President - 316-990-1425   Email President          

 Amy Campbell, lobbyist – 785-969-1617   Email Lobbyist

 



Kansas Association of Beverage Retailers       P.O. Box 3842, Topeka, KS  66604      Email KABR  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software