Kansas Association
of Beverage Retailers

 

 

 

 

House Committee Hears Opposition to Uncork Bill

15 Feb 2017 11:00 AM | Anonymous

Today, the House Commerce, Labor and Economic Development Committee heard from opponents of HB 2282 – the 2017 liquor bill that would create Wine and Beer licenses for grocery and convenience stores.

Click here to read the CJ Online article: Critics Challenge Spirit of Retail Liquor Store Reform Bill.  

It was standing room only in the hearing room, where retailers from across the state had gathered to hear the testimony. 

Speakers included R.E. Tuck Duncan for the KS Wine and Spirits Wholesalers Association, Ross Schimmels - Standard Beverage Corporation, Aaron Rosenow - Vern’s Retail Liquor, Brandon Plaschka – Plaschka & Kramer Liquor, Amy Campbell – KS Association of Beverage Retailers, Frances Wood – Women’s Temperance, Jeff Breault – R & J Discount Liquor, Larry Baer – KS League of Municipalities, Whitney Damron – KS Association for Responsible Liquor Laws, Tim Liesmann – attorney, Seth Fox – High Plains Distillery, and Luke Lawlor – Ad Astra Distributor. 

Debbi Beavers, Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control presented neutral comments on the bill, recommending changes.  The agency was particularly concerned with bill language to allow corporations to hold liquor licenses and requiring only those holding 15% or more ownership to meet licensing requirements.  The testimony states “In theory, seven or more convicted felons or previously revoked persons could team up and own a corporation and none would have to meet the qualification.”  The cost of implementation to ABC (not including other agencies) would be staggered over time:  FY 18 $58,056; FY 19 $650,739; FY $810,586.   These estimates were based on 90% of the 1476 current CMB license holders choosing to get the new Wine and Beer license.  She pointed out, however, that the Dept. of Revenue lists 4000 entities filing tax returns that fit within the NAICS codes (business definitions) listed in the bill.  When questioned, she said that if the 4000 sought Wine and Beer licenses, the size and cost of the ABC would double from what it is today, but thought the number might not exceed 2500.

When questioning had ended, Chairman Les Mason announced the committee would work the bill on Thursday or he would entertain a motion to suspend the rules and work it today.  Rep. John Carmichael made a motion to suspend the rules. That motion was passed with 9 votes. It appeared the committee would consider a motion to table the bill. Then, Rep. Erin Davis, who had returned to the committee just in time for the vote, requested the committee reconsider the motion and wait to work the bill.  She pointed out that a couple of committee members had left the meeting early.  The motion was reconsidered – and the bill will be debated and voted on at the Thursday 1:30 p.m. meeting of the committee.  Committee members will receive a lot of pressure from Uncork supporters between now and Thursday.

KABR will post more copies of testimony at the website in the next few days.  Click on underlined links -   Read KABR Testimony here *  Rosenow Testimony * Plaschka Testimony (includes comments from rural grocer) * Breault Testimony

Written testimony was distributed from another dozen or so opponents to HB 2282.

Information for the House Commerce Committee is below:

Office

Fullname

Party

Office#

OfficePhone

Email

HomeCity

Chair

Les Mason

Republican

521-E

785-296-7640

les.mason@house.ks.gov

McPherson

Vice Chair

Ken Corbet

Republlican

179-N

785 296-7679

ken.corbet@house.ks.gov

Topeka

Ranking Minority

Brandon Whipple

Democrat

452-S

785 296-7366

brandon.whipple@house.ks.gov

Wichita

Representative

Dave Baker

Republican

167-W

785 296-6997

dave.baker@house.ks.gov

Council Grove

Representative

John Carmichael

Democrat

451-S

785-296-7650

john.carmichael@house.ks.gov

Wichita

Representative

J. R.  Claeys

Republican

274-W

785 296-7670

jrclaeys@house.ks.gov

Salina

Representative

Stephanie Clayton

Republican

512-N

785 296-7548

stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov

Overland Park

Representative

Erin Davis

Republican

151-S

785-296-7658

erin.davis@house.ks.gov

Olathe

Representative

Roger Elliott

Republican

168-W

785 296-7476

Roger.Elliott@house.ks.gov

Wichita

Representative

Jan Kessinger

Republican

268-W

785 296-7436

Jan.Kessinger@house.ks.gov

Overland Park

Representative

Tom Phillips

Republican

512-N

785 296-7402

tom.phillips@house.ks.gov

Manhattan

Representative

Bradley Ralph

Republican

512-N

785 296-7501

Brad.Ralph@house.ks.gov

Dodge City

Representative

Louis Ruiz

Democrat

47-S

785 296-7885

louis.ruiz@house.ks.gov

Kansas City

Representative

Joe Seiwert

Republican

481-W

785 296-7647

joe.seiwert@house.ks.gov

Pretty Prairie

Representative

Jerry Stogsdill

Democrat

452-S

785 296-7692

Jerry.Stogsdill@house.ks.gov

Prairie Village

Representative

Sean Tarwater

Republican

268-W

785 296-7685

Sean.Tarwater@house.ks.gov

Stilwell

Representative

Patsy Terrell

Democrat

174-W

785 296-7645

Patsy.Terrell@house.ks.gov

Hutchinson

                                                       

Contacts: 

 Brian Davis, President - 316-990-1425   Email President          

 Amy Campbell, lobbyist – 785-969-1617   Email Lobbyist

 
  
                                       



Kansas Association of Beverage Retailers       P.O. Box 3842, Topeka, KS  66604      Email KABR  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software